

Town of Aurora Special Meeting of Council Minutes

Date: Tuesday, April 25, 2023

Time: 6 p.m.

Location: Council Chambers, Aurora Town Hall

Council Members: Mayor Tom Mrakas (Chair)

Councillor Ron Weese

Councillor Rachel Gilliland (joined 6:25 p.m.) Councillor Wendy Gaertner (joined 6:26 p.m.)

Councillor Michael Thompson

Councillor John Gallo Councillor Harold Kim

Other Attendees: Doug Nadorozny, Chief Administrative Officer

Marco Ramunno, Director, Planning and Development Services

Michael de Rond, Town Clerk

Palak Mehta, Council/Committee Coordinator

1. Call to Order

This meeting served as the Annual General Meeting of the Aurora Economic Development Corporation.

The Mayor called the meeting to order at 6:22 p.m.

2. Land Acknowledgement

The Mayor acknowledged that the meeting took place on Anishinaabe lands, the traditional and treaty territory of the Chippewas of Georgina Island, recognizing the many other Nations whose presence here continues to this day, the special relationship the Chippewas have with the lands and waters of this territory, and that Aurora has shared responsibility for the stewardship of these lands and waters. It was noted that Aurora is part of the treaty lands of the Mississaugas and Chippewas, recognized through Treaty #13 and the Williams Treaties of 1923.

3. Approval of the Agenda

Moved by Councillor Weese Seconded by Councillor Thompson

That the Agenda as circulated by Legislative Services be approved.

Yeas (5): Mayor Mrakas, Councillor Weese, Councillor Thompson, Councillor Gallo, and Councillor Kim

Absent (2): Councillor Gilliland, and Councillor Gaertner

Carried (5 to 0)

4. Declarations of Pecuniary Interest and General Nature Thereof

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest under the *Municipal Conflict of Interest Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.50.*

5. Delegations

None.

6. Consideration of Items Requiring Discussion

6.1 PDS23-055 - Aurora Economic Development Corporation Annual Report 2022

Marilee Harris, Chair, Aurora Economic Development Corporation (AEDC) discussed their mandate including the Terms of Reference and purpose of the Board. They further presented an overview of the accomplishments of the Board in 2022 including the Economic Development Strategic Plan, investment attraction, business support, business retention and expansion (BRE), downtown revitalization and workforce development, as well as the Emerging Aurora Campaign 2023, and the 2023 Event Schedule.

Moved by Councillor Weese Seconded by Councillor Gaertner

- 1. That Report No. PDS23-055 be received; and
- 2. That the Aurora Economic Development Corporation's Director's Report attached hereto as Attachment 1 be received; and

- 3. That the requirements regarding the appointment and duties of the auditor be exempted for the financial year; and
- 4. That Council appoint the following individual to the Aurora Economic Development Corporation (AEDC) Board of Directors for a term of three years:
 - Dr. Nima Khadem-Mohtaram; and
- That Council authorize staff to update the Aurora Economic Development Corporation's Terms of Reference to reflect Council's direction.

Yeas (7): Mayor Mrakas, Councillor Weese, Councillor Gilliland, Councillor Gaertner, Councillor Thompson, Councillor Gallo, and Councillor Kim

Carried (7 to 0)

7. Confirming By-law

7.1 By-law No. 6489-23 Being a By-law to confirm actions by Council resulting from a Special Meeting of Council on April 25, 2023

Moved by Councillor Kim Seconded by Councillor Thompson

That the confirming by-law be enacted.

Carried

8. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Thompson Seconded by Councillor Gilliland

That the meeting be adjourned at 6:49 p.m.

Carried

Tom Mrakas Mayor	Michael de Rond Town Clerk