

Town of Aurora Special Meeting of Council Minutes

Date: Tuesday, April 8, 2025

Time: 5:30 p.m.

Location: Council Chambers, Aurora Town Hall

Council Members: Mayor Tom Mrakas (Chair)

Councillor Ron Weese

Councillor Rachel Gilliland Councillor Wendy Gaertner

Councillor John Gallo Councillor Harold Kim

Members Absent: Councillor Michael Thompson

Other Attendees: Doug Nadorozny, Chief Administrative Officer

Patricia De Sario, Director, Corporate Services/Town Solicitor

Robin McDougall, Director, Community Services

Marco Ramunno, Director, Planning and Development Services Matthew Volpintesta, Acting Director, Operational Services

Rachel Wainwright-van Kessel, Director, Finance

Michael de Rond, Town Clerk

Julia Shipcott, Council/Committee Coordinator

Ishita Soneji, Deputy Clerk

1. Call to Order

The Mayor called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

2. Land Acknowledgement

Mayor Mrakas acknowledged that the meeting took place on Anishinaabe lands, the traditional and treaty territory of the Chippewas of Georgina Island, recognizing the many other Nations whose presence here continues to this day, the special relationship the Chippewas have with the lands and waters of this territory, and that Aurora has shared responsibility for the stewardship of these lands and waters. It was noted that Aurora is part of the treaty lands of the Mississaugas and Chippewas, recognized through Treaty #13 and the Williams Treaties of 1923.

3. Approval of the Agenda

Moved by Councillor Gallo Seconded by Councillor Weese

That the agenda as circulated by Legislative Services be approved.

Yeas (6): Mayor Mrakas, Councillor Weese, Councillor Gilliland, Councillor Gaertner, Councillor Gallo, and Councillor Kim

Absent (1): Councillor Thompson

Carried (6 to 0)

4. Declarations of Pecuniary Interest and General Nature Thereof

There were no declarations of pecuniary interest under the *Municipal Conflict of Interest Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.50*.

5. Delegations

None.

6. Consideration of Items Requiring Discussion

6.1 Parking Accommodations for 180 John West WayMoved by Councillor GalloSeconded by Councillor Weese

- 1. That staff limit enforcement activities to issues that impact traffic safety such as fire routes, signed restrictions, sidewalks, and transit stops from April 23 to May 15, 2025; and
- 2. That a per car fee be established for any vehicles who do not want to park on the street and wish to use the Town Hall upper parking lot to a maximum of 70 vehicles; and

- 3. That an extension be allowed for all cars to be removed at 9 a.m., not 8:30 a.m., each morning and returning no earlier than 4:30 p.m.; and
- 4. That the condominium management is requested to issue an information memo to all affected residents in the neighbourhood.

Yeas (6): Mayor Mrakas, Councillor Weese, Councillor Gilliland, Councillor Gaertner, Councillor Gallo, and Councillor Kim

Absent (1): Councillor Thompson

Carried (6 to 0)

7. **Confirming By-law**

7.1 By-law Number 6689-25 - Being a By-law to confirm actions by Council resulting from a Special Meeting of Council on April 8, 2025

Moved by Councillor Weese Seconded by Councillor Kim

That the confirming by-law be enacted.

Carried

8. Adjournment

Moved by Councillor Gallo Seconded by Councillor Gaertner

That the meeting be adjourned at 5:32 p.m.

Carried

Tom Mrakas, Mayor

Michael de Rond, Town Clerk